Sunday, October 11, 2009

Magna-Steyr for 2011 Mercedes-Benz SLS AMG

The aluminum bodies for the gullwing coupe will be built at Magna’s Steyr division, which was once known as Steyr-Daimler-Puch. Located in Graz, Austria, the branch has long been known to produce low-volume and specialty vehicles. Mercedes is no stranger to Magna-Steyr -- not only did it help to engineer and build the first examples of its 4MATIC all-wheel-drive system, but it also currently builds the beefy Geländewagen SUV.

Thanks to Magna’s purchase of Opel from General Motors, many companies are expressing reservations about handing over production contracts to a firm that may be a direct competitor. Daimler, however, is not one of them.

“Magna has stated and confirmed again and again that they would have two totally separate organizations,” said Dieter Zetsche, Daimler’s CEO. “If that is a smart step that Magna is taking, does it prevent us from continuing our good business relationship with Magna, the supplier? Clearly no -- so I have no problem from that perspective with their decision."

Wednesday, August 12, 2009

New 2011 Mercedes-Benz E-Class Wagon on Sale in U.S. by June 2010

The third body style in the all-new E-class lineup, the 2011 Mercedes-Benz E-Class wagon, is scheduled to make its official debut at the 2009 Frankfurt auto show next month, but Mercedes-Benz has posted images of the car ahead of the show.

In the U.S., the E-class wagon will be sold simply as an E350 4MATIC model, which sports a 268-hp 3.5-liter V-6, paired with a seven-speed automatic transmission and standard all-wheel-drive. Mercedes-Benz says the new wagon has been equipped with stiffer shock absorber settings and torsion stabilizer bars than the outgoing model. An automatic, self-leveling suspension system called "Agility Control" keeps the wagon at the same height even when the cargo is fully loaded.

For the first time, U.S. buyers will have the option to equip the E-class wagon with a sport package, which includes perforated front brake discs with painted calipers, 5-spoke 17-inch alloy wheels, gearshift paddles, modified front and rear fascias, twin trapezoidal exhaust pipes, and unique rocker panels. An AMG wheel package will be available, adding 5-spoke 18-inch alloy wheels and a 3-spoke steering wheel.

Inside, the wagon will be equipped with a standard drowsiness detection system Mercedes-Benz dubs "Attention Assist", while a pre-collision detection system will be optional.

The E-class wagon will go on sale in the U.S. starting in June 2010 as a 2011 model. We'll have more details next month, when the wagon makes its physical debut at the Frankfurt show.

Tuesday, July 7, 2009

Mercedes Benz Pictures

Profile : Mercedes-Benz Company

The Mercedes-Benz brand was officially formed in 1926 with the merger of Daimler-Motoren-Gesellschaft (DMG) and Benz & Cie. (Daimler-Benz). However, its history goes back further: in 1886, Karl Benz rolled out what he called the "the Benz Patent Motor Car", a three-wheeled vehicle which is, today, considered the world's first automobile. Daimler, though, is accredited with building the world's first modern internal combustion engine. Maybach would later build the first Mercedes, named after the daughter of one of DMG's investors.

In 1998, Daimler-Benz and American automaker Chrysler Corporation merged to form DaimlerChrysler.

The company quickly developed a reputation of technical excellence and innovation. The Mercedes-Benz 170, which debuted in 1931, came with the world's first our-wheel independent suspension. Many of today's safety features, such as "crumple zones", anti-lock brakes, and traction control, were developed by the company.

Besides safety, the brand is also known for its vehicles' luxury and powerful engines. The latter was cemented when Mercedes-Benz entered a partnership with performance company AMG in the 90's. Today, there is virtually an AMG-version of every Mercedes vehicle.

The automaker, with such a long history, has an equally long list of vehicles. Well-known Mercedes-Benz include the E-Class sedan; the flagship S-Class, the M-Class SUV; and SLR McLaren.
Need more anything..??